Least Action

Nontrivializing triviality..and vice versa.

An inexpensive way to connect an HDMI screen to a Macbook

leave a comment »

I am not a huge Mac fan, but I do happen to have access to a Macbook Air, and since I find it hard to carry two laptops, a tablet and at least 5-6 books daily, I wanted to figure out a cheap way to get my Macbook Air to work with my HP Pavilion 27xi HDMI monitor. After some research, I went ahead and purchased an AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort (Thunderbolt) to HDMI Adapter cable for about $10. There are many more cables available on Amazon, and most of them are much more expensive. But they’re all manufactured in roughly the same areas of our planet, so I wasn’t convinced about buying a costlier adapter especially for something I wouldn’t be heavily relying on. But this adapter is very nifty and works well.

The only other problem was to get the resolutions to match. For this, click on the leftmost button on the touch-activated panel of the HP Pavilion 27xi monitor. A menu opens up. Use the third soft key from left (with a “-” symbol) to navigate down to Image Control. When Image Control is highlighted, tap on the leftmost soft key again. Now, select Custom Scaling and press the leftmost soft key. Then, select Overscan and select “Off”. This should eliminate the problem of screen contents on the HDMI monitor being chopped. In my case at least, the default setting (Auto) does not work well with the Macbook Air I am working on.

Written by Vivek

November 6, 2014 at 21:53

Posted in Electronics

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

